Workshop in Seoul (Seoul Citizen Hall)

IMG_5018 This workshop is a workshop of MediArchi (Media + architecture), with international students in architecture, urbanism, landscape and multi-media advanced. This workshop is held at the same time as 2 conference days involving experts, and an exhibition of ‘ 5 artists + 5 Architects ‘ around the theme “Bio-Digital”. The event is also an international cooperation between the City of Seoul and the French Embassy in Korea.

Partners Seoul Citizen Hall, Embassy of France in Korea, Seoul Citizen Office, International Urban Institute, Universcience/Cité des sciences et de l’industrie in Paris, Yeungnam University, French Institute, Université de Mons (Belgium), International Workshop for the Biodigital city, DMP Partners (Seoul)

Jury/Coordination Baek SeungMan (professor at Yeungnam University, Korea), Jean MAGERAND (Professor Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism of the Université de Mons, Belgium), Claire BAILLY (Ecole d’architecture de Montpellier, France), Kim Hyeonggi (University of Chung-Ang, Seoul, Korea), Mun Jinho (Representative DMP), Son Sukyoung (director Deojum Art Centre)
Organizing Committee

Baek SeungMan (University Yeungnam Direction ensemble), Son Sukyoung (Deojum Art Centre, exhibition), Choe Jeongpil (Seoul Civil Administration, Production space supervisor), Kim Gihong 1 (Kyosks, Executive adviser), Kim Gihong 2 (( 3d printing), Bak Hyerin (Ewha Women’s University, ensemble design)

Teachers Kim Gihong (urban design director KyOsk, architect DPLG français), Yi Jongeun (Mindbrick Director of Design Lab, French architect DPLG), Kim Byeonggyu (Chung-Ang University, Graduate School of Advanced Imaging, Ph.D., DATA + Lab), Kim Sug-Won (Seoul National University, PhD, University College London + AA school), Lee Young-Seok (urban Index Holdings, London Cambridge Univ + AA school), Song Seon (Chung-Ang University PhD Graduate School of Advanced Imaging, DATA + laboratory), Kim Dongjo (Chung-Ang University, advanced Imaging, Ph.D., DATA + Lab), Woo JJonghyeon (Hansen GSD, Rotterdam Berlage), An Na (Ankun Design Group, Rotterdam Berlage + Univ. Of the Arts of London), Jeong Haehyeon (Chung-Ang University PhD Graduate School of Advanced Imaging, DATA + Lab) Participants-35 students from Korea-1 student from the United States-student from Canada-5 students from Europe representing 20 different universities:- 13 Korean Universities (3 from province + 10 from Seoul)-1 American University-1 Canadian University-4 European universities

Chronicle | The Attali report, or the revival of Utopias?

In a guided analysis of the Attali report, the architect and urban planner Jean Magerand assumes the role of Candide; It does not address the problems that are annoying because it is the working method and the areas of design, environment and construction, in the broad sense, that have taken its attention. A useful model? Prospective chronicle. Continue reading

Chronicle | From academicism to foresight

Why a prospective and architecture section? Because we must respond to an expectation too long dissatisfied, because we suffer from a time that is polarizes especially on the present and the short term and so little on the future, and because, more simply, we like to look at the distant future the Eyes in the eyes. Prospective chronicle of Jean Magerand and Claire Bailly. Continue reading

Chronicle | Foresight as a tool for analyzing a "modernity-true"

What quality (s) for the Branly Museum of Jean Nouvel with regard to essential values constituting the new culture in the process of establishing itself in our civilization? In the field of architecture, the world of ideas would remain blind to the transformations of the contemporary world? Prospective chronicle of Jean Magerand. Continue reading

Chronicle | What are future architects dreaming about?

When we talk about foresight, what could be more normal than to evoke the rising generation of architects. I have chosen to present five students diplômables among those who have enrolled in the "prospective group" which I animate at the School of Architecture of Paris-la-Villette. Prospective chronicle of Jean Magerand.

Continue reading

Chronicle | Will high environmental quality (HQE) kill architecture?

The recent Grand Prix of Architecture, Rudy Ricciotti, has blasted the new HQE standards, insisting that architects will be bridled in their creativity. According to him, over-insulations and removals of thermal bridges will bundle the architectural hardware in their binding and unsightly coat. Prospective chronicle of Jean Magerand.

This column was first published on CyberArchi on September 20, 2007

Continue reading

Chronicle | A true modernity… Why not?

Promoting a forward-looking speech requires constant attention to anything that can significantly influence the evolution of contemporary thought. In history, the future often begins with an evil-being in the present, whose symptoms are only discerned, most of the time harmful, without being able to perceive neither the causes nor the mechanisms.

Continue reading

Chronicle | Prospective Chronicle

Working and expressing oneself on foresight inevitably leads to a critical look at our contemporary ways of doing and thinking. Foresight disturbs the conformism and therefore requires, to express itself fully, a medium of free expression. Also, when Christophe Leray asked us to open a forward looking section in the architect's mail we did not hesitate. Continue reading

Chronicle | To urban hyper-density?

Difficult to define precisely what will be the nature of our living environment for tomorrow because our time, like that of the late 19th century, brings together all paradoxical situations. Will the very high urban density, predictable, be compatible with human activity and the balance of the planet? Prospective chronicle of Jean Magerand. Continue reading

Chronicle | Emmanuel Natchitz: ICT City needs competent specialists

Making life easier in the city with new methods? Since September 2010, it is the goal of the new master specialized URBANTIC launched by the School of Engineering of the city of Paris (E.I.V.P.) soon joined by the Ecole des Ponts Paris Tech. A training based on an observation: new knowledge can improve the quality of life in the city. Prospective chronicle.

Continue reading

Chronicle | When Utopia and operational techniques rub shoulders

A prospective debate worthy of the name is fed alternatively of theoretical, practical and utopian substances. Today we present a fragment of the manifest text accompanying the project of bio-Digital City presented in the competition ' D3 Natural System '. The objective of this international competition was to propose architectural, territorial or urban devices designed to the articulation between nature and the artificial. Continue reading

Chronicle | Post-History of Architecture: the digital revolution

"In France, we killed the fine arts system, but we did not kill a modernity that was sometimes a little academic," says Antoine Picon *, a Harvard professor. "Technological change first corresponds to a cultural change, otherwise the technology remains isolated and does not interest anyone," he says. Three-part meeting * *.

Continue reading

Toward HyperLandscap

MAGERAND Jean, MORTAMAIS Elizabeth, towards Hyperpayson, L'Harmattan, 2009, Cites Collection Technologies Prospective, 258 p.   Cover four: Any societal organization interferes with the natural environment and generates landscape. The apparently unnatural collaboration of the computer and ecology is very coherent. What is the reference to the representation of this hypercomplex nature that reveals to us the life sciences and the information? What are the possible impacts on the management and interpretation of the territories? What landscapes emerge?

Continue reading

The Biodigital City-International Workshop and Research seminar from July 19 to 28, 2012

http://www.ateliergrandparis.fr/ateliersdebats/workshop/citebio.php

Technologies, cultural trends and lifestyles:
The new technologies that can be integrated into the city, in the long term, are those that accompany the human tendencies and desires of the inhabitants, without creating additional constraints on the way of life. Yet they will not fail to influence
Lifestyles. Here are some non-exhaustive themes that will be at the heart of the workshop's reflection.

Continue reading

Context and problem

Grand Paris is a growing metropolis whose ambitious objectives of intensification in terms of activity, services and housing are a key issue. The Law on greater Paris provides for the construction of 70 000 annual dwellings to accommodate about 50 000 people a year. As in many metropolises, this growth poses the problem of urban sprawl: can we continue to expand the urban footprint, build new neighbourhoods on peripheral rural areas to welcome the growing population and Participate in the sprawl of agricultural land that is used to feed the same population? The 10 teams of architects and planners consulted in 2008 to draw the possible future of the Grand Paris all agreed on the need to build as much as possible the city on the city.
The time of the new cities is over and the greater Paris will maximize the intensification of the existing city. However, some non-urbanized territories are going to be strategically made by the development of the public transport network and will welcome new neighbourhoods. In this context, it is essential to devise new ways of urbanization that are capable of preserving the natural areas and agricultural land as much as possible while intensifying the city.

Assumptions

The workshop is part of a prospective approach that aims to imagine a future by confronting the realities and trends of evolution of the territory, lifestyles and technologies. In relation to the above-mentioned problem, the objective will be to test the hypothesis of a
Hyper-collective city consisting of urban units of 5000 inhabitants.
A hyper-dense urban planning offering flexible and high quality lifestyles that allow you to live and live by saving the agricultural surface. Urban units will be conceived on the premise that digital, robotics and biological technologies, which are now germs, can soon be generalized and fully integrated into lifestyles.
In this context, new technologies could maximise and optimise spaces and uses, and solve in real time the problems of urban management, food, environmental impact, recycling and energy saving. The various projects will be implemented in the strategic sites of the greater Paris where are at stake questions of economy of space, preservation of resources, connectivity to networks.

Conferences

  • Claire Bailly-Jean Magerand: Biodigital presentation
  • Prof. Seugman Baek: Seoul Renaissance; Seoul for the Future
  • Armand Béhar: Imaginary Worlds
  • Bertrand Lemoine: Presentation of the Grand Paris context
  • Roland Vidal: Agriculture, landscape and food governance
  • Angel Talamona: Instant mobile social networks and urban mobility
  • André Fleury: Agriculture projects
  • Claire Bailly-Jean Magerand: Contemporary Issues
  • Pierre-Yvon Carnoy: Public spaces and digital spaces, writings and interpretations
  • Elodie Gerard: BIM and 3d in an architectural agency
  • Eve Ross: Collaborative model
  • Emmanuel Natchitz: Urban and ICT engineering
    Young professionals involved throughout the workshop: Eun Sook BAE, Cédric BLEMAND, Thomas Fier, Marie VADECARD, Thomas ZEDIN

Workshop à Séoul (Seoul Citizen Hall)

IMG_5018

Ce workshop est un atelier de MediArchi (Media + Architecture), avec les étudiants internationaux en architecture, urbanisme, paysage et multi-médias avancés.
Ce workshop se tient en même temps que 2 journées de colloque faisant intervenir des experts, et qu’une exposition de ‘5 Artistes + 5 Architectes’ autour du thème “Bio-Digital”.

L’événement est également une coopération internationale entre la ville de Séoul et l’Ambassade de France en Corée.

 

Partenaires

Séoul Citizen Hall, Ambassade de France en Corée, Séoul Citizen Office, Institut urbain international, Universcience / Cité des sciences et de l’industrie à Paris, Université Yeungnam, Institut Français, Université de Mons (Belgique), Atelier International pour la Cité Bionumérique, DMP partners (Séoul)

 

Jury / coordination

Baek SeungMan (professeur à l’Université Yeungnam, Corée), Jean MAGERAND (professeur Faculté d’Architecture et d’Urbanisme de l’Université de Mons, Belgique), Claire BAILLY (Ecole d’architecture de Montpellier, France), Kim Hyeonggi (Université de Chung-Ang, Séoul, Corée), Mun Jinho (représentant DMP), Son Sukyoung (directrice deojum Art Centre)

 

Comité organisateur

Baek SeungMan (Université Yeungnam direction d’ensemble), Son Sukyoung (deojum Art Centre, Exposition), Choe Jeongpil (Séoul Administration civile, superviseur de l’espace de production), Kim Gihong 1 (Kyosks, conseiller exécutif), Kim Gihong 2 ((impression 3d) , Bak Hyerin (Université féminine Ewha, conception d’ensemble)

 

Enseignants

Kim Gihong (design urbain Directeur KyOsk, architecte DPLG français), Yi Jongeun (Mindbrick Directeur du Design Lab, architecte DPLG français), Kim Byeonggyu (Université de Chung-Ang, Graduate School of Advanced Imaging, Ph.D., DATA + Lab), Kim Sug – Won (Université nationale de Séoul, PhD, University College Londres + AA School), Lee Young – Seok (Urbaine Index Holdings, Londres Cambrige Univ + AA School), Song Seon (Chung-Ang University PhD Graduate School de l’imagerie avancée, DATA + laboratoire), Kim Dongjo (Université de Chung-Ang, imagerie avancée, Ph.D., DATA + Lab), Woo jJonghyeon (Havard GSD, Rotterdam Berlage), An Na (Ankun Design Group, Rotterdam Berlage + Univ. Des Arts de Londres), Jeong Haehyeon (Chung-Ang University PhD Graduate School of Advanced Imaging, DATA + Lab)

 

Participants

– 35 étudiants de Corée

– 1 étudiante des Etats-Unis

– étudiante du Canada

– 5 étudiants d’Europe

représentant 20 universités differentes :
– 13 universités Coréennes (3 de province + 10 de Séoul)

– 1 université américaine

– 1 université canadienne- 4 universités européennes

 

 

Chronique | L’architecte et l’analyse ‘augmentée’ : quelle démarche de projet ?

Comment appréhender les notions de probabilité et d’incertitude puisque la ville des données existe ? Dans le cadre d’un projet, passer ces datas au filtre de l’analyse prédictive est-elle une manière possible de leur donner du sens ? Quelles problématiques naissent au croisement de ces deux éléments ?

Lire la suite

Chronique | Le rapport Attali, ou la renaissance des utopies ?

Dans une analyse orientée du rapport Attali, l’architecte et urbaniste Jean Magerand assume le rôle de Candide ; il aborde peu les problèmes qui fâchent car ce sont la méthode de travail et les domaines de la conception de l’aménagement, de l’environnement et de la construction, au sens large, qui ont retenu son attention. Un modèle utile ? Chronique prospective.

Lire la suite

Chronique | De l’académisme à la prospective

Pourquoi une rubrique prospective et architecture ? Parce qu’il nous faut répondre à une attente trop longtemps insatisfaite, parce que nous souffrons d’une époque qui se polarise surtout sur le présent et le court terme et si peu sur l’avenir, et parce que, plus simplement, nous aimons regarder le futur lointain les yeux dans les yeux. Chronique prospective de Jean Magerand et Claire Bailly.

Lire la suite

Chronique | La prospective comme outil d’analyse d’une « Modernité-vraie »

Quelle(s) qualité(s) pour le musée Branly de Jean Nouvel au regard de valeurs essentielles constituant la nouvelle culture en train de se mettre en place dans notre civilisation ? Dans le domaine de l’architecture, le monde des idées resterait aveugle aux transformations du monde contemporain ? Chronique prospective de Jean Magerand.

Lire la suite

Chronique | A quoi rêvent les futurs architectes ?

Quand on parle de prospectives, quoi de plus normal que d’évoquer la génération montante des architectes. J’ai choisi de présenter cinq étudiants diplômables parmi ceux qui se sont inscrits dans le « Groupe prospectives » que j’anime à l’école d’architecture de Paris-la-Villette. Chronique Prospective de Jean Magerand.

Lire la suite

Chronique | La Haute Qualité Environnementale (HQE) va-t-elle tuer l’architecture ?

Le récent grand prix de l’architecture, Rudy Ricciotti, a fustigé les nouvelles normes HQE, insistant sur le fait que les architectes vont être bridés dans leur créativité. Selon lui, les sur-isolations et suppressions de ponts thermiques vont emmitoufler le hardware architectural dans leur manteau contraignant et inesthétique. Chronique Prospective de Jean Magerand.

Cette chronique est parue en première publication sur CyberArchi le 20 septembre 2007

Lire la suite

Chronique | Une modernité véritable… pourquoi pas ?

Promouvoir un discours prospectif nécessite une attention constante à tout ce qui peut influencer de manière significative l’évolution de la pensée contemporaine. Dans l’histoire, le futur commence souvent par un mal-être au présent, dont on ne discerne que les symptômes, la plupart du temps néfastes, sans qu’il soit possible d’en percevoir ni les causes ni les mécanismes.

Lire la suite

Chronique | Chronique Prospective

Travailler et s’exprimer sur la prospective amène obligatoirement un regard critique sur nos manières contemporaines de faire et de penser. La prospective dérange les conformismes et nécessite donc, pour s’exprimer pleinement, un support de libre expression. Aussi, lorsque Christophe Leray nous a demandé d’ouvrir une rubrique Prospectives dans le Courrier de l’Architecte nous n’avons pas hésité.

Lire la suite

Chronique | Vers l’hyper-densité urbaine ?

Difficile de définir avec précision quelle sera la nature de notre cadre de vie pour demain car notre époque, comme celle de la fin du 19e siècle, rassemble toutes les situations paradoxales. La très haute densité urbaine, prévisible, sera-t-elle compatible avec l’activité humaine et l’équilibre de la planète ? Chronique prospective de Jean Magerand.
Lire la suite

Chronique | Emmanuel Natchitz : La ville des TIC a besoin de spécialistes compétents

Faciliter la vie en ville grâce à des méthodes nouvelles ? Depuis septembre 2010, c’est l’objectif du nouveau master spécialisé URBANTIC lancé par l’Ecole d’Ingénieurs de la Ville de Paris (E.I.V.P.) bientôt rejoint par l’Ecole des Ponts Paris Tech. Une formation issue d’un constat : les nouvelles connaissances peuvent améliorer la qualité de la vie en ville. Chronique Prospective.

Lire la suite

Chronique | Qui a peur des nouvelles utopies ?

Devant l’urgence environnementale, les utopies ‘récessionnistes’, ‘révisionnistes’ ou ‘révolutionnaires’ font florès aujourd’hui. Quel que soit l’avenir auquel ils sont voués, ces systèmes de pensée impliquent qu’une transformation du cadre de vie aura lieu. Mais lequel ? Chronique prospective signée Jean Magerand.

Lire la suite

Chronique | Quand utopie et techniques opérationnelles se côtoient

Un débat prospectif digne de ce nom s’alimente alternativement de substances théoriques, pratiques et utopiques. Nous présentons aujourd’hui un fragment du texte manifeste accompagnant le projet de ville bio-numérique présenté au concours D3 Natural System’. L’objectif de cette compétition internationale était de proposer des dispositifs architecturaux, territoriaux ou urbains conçus à l’articulation entre la nature et l’artificiel.
Lire la suite

Chronique | Un humain transcendé pour une architecture interactive ?

Dans son ouvrage ‘La Ville Interactive – L’architecture et l’urbanisme au risque du numérique et de l’écologie’*, Serge Wachter, professeur en architecture, s’interroge sur les incidences des nouvelles techniques sur la pensée architecturale et urbaine. Il précise ici quelques points essentiels de son discours sur les nouvelles approches de la vie en ville.
Lire la suite

Chronique | Aux architectes, devoir d’inventaire

«A bien des égards, le monde numérique fait figure de monde de l’ornement généralisé», estime Antoine Picon*, professeur à Harvard. «Présentée au départ comme synonyme d’une dangereuse dématérialisation, la diffusion des outils numériques a, en fait, contribué à remettre en jeu la question de la matérialité», dit-il. Rencontre en trois volets**.

Lire la suite

Chronique | Post-histoire de l’architecture : la révolution numérique

«En France, nous avons tué le système des Beaux-arts mais nous n’avons pas tué une modernité parfois un peu académique», estime Antoine Picon*, professeur à Harvard. «Le changement technologique correspond d’abord à un changement culturel, sinon la technologie reste isolée et n’intéresse personne», dit-il. Rencontre en trois volets**.

Lire la suite

Vers l’Hyperpaysage

MAGERAND Jean, MORTAMAIS Elizabeth, Vers l’Hyperpaysage, L’harmattan, 2009, Collection Cites Technologies Prospective, 258 p.

 

quatrième de couverture :

Toute organisation sociétale interfère avec le milieu naturel et génère du paysage. La collaboration apparemment contre-nature de l’ordinateur et de l’écologie est pourtant très cohérente. A quoi se réfère la représentation de cette nature hypercomplexe que nous dévoilent les sciences du vivant et celles de l’information ? Quelles en sont les répercussions possibles sur la gestion et sur l’interprétation des territoires ? Quels paysages en émergent ?

Lire la suite

LA CITÉ BIONUMÉRIQUE – Workshop international et séminaire de recherche du 19 au 28 juillet 2012

http://www.ateliergrandparis.fr/ateliersdebats/workshop/citebio.php

Technologies, tendances culturelles et modes de vie :
Les nouvelles technologies qui peuvent s’intégrer dans la ville, à long terme, sont celles qui accompagnent les tendances humaines et les désirs des habitants, sans pour autant générer de contraintes supplémentaires sur la façon de vivre. Pourtant, elles ne manqueront pas d’influencer
les modes de vie. Voici quelques thèmes non exhaustifs qui seront au cœur de la réflexion du workshop.

Lire la suite

Contexte et problématique

Le Grand Paris est une métropole en croissance dont les objectifs ambitieux d’intensification en termes d’activité, de services et de logements sont un enjeu primordial. La loi sur le Grand Paris prévoit en effet la construction de 70 000 logements annuels pour accueillir environ 50 000 personnes par an. Comme dans de nombreuses métropoles, cette croissance pose le problème de l’étalement urbain : peut-on continuer à étendre l’emprise urbaine, construire de nouveaux quartiers sur les espaces ruraux périphériques pour accueillir la population grandissante et participer ainsi au mitage des terres agricoles qui servent à nourrir cette même population ? Les 10 équipes d’architectes-urbanistes consultées en 2008 pour dessiner l’avenir possible du Grand Paris se sont toutes accordées sur la nécessité de construire autant que possible la ville sur la ville.
L’époque des villes nouvelles est révolue et le Grand Paris privilégiera au maximum l’intensification de la ville existante. Cependant certains territoires non urbanisés vont être rendus stratégiques par le développement du réseau de transports public et accueilleront de nouveaux quartiers. Dans ce contexte, il est indispensable d’imaginer de nouveaux modes d’urbanisation qui soient capables de préserver au maximum les espaces naturels et les terres agricoles tout en intensifiant la ville.

Hypothèses

Le workshop s’inscrit dans une démarche prospective qui vise à imaginer un futur en se confrontant aux réalités et aux tendances d’évolution du territoire, des modes de vie et des technologies. En lien avec la problématique énoncée plus haut, l’objectif sera de tester l’hypothèse d’une
cité hyper-collective constituée d’unités urbaines de 5000 habitants.
Un urbanisme hyper-dense offrant des modes de vie flexibles et de haute qualité et permettant d’habiter et de vivre en économisant la surface agricole. Les unités urbaines seront conçues en partant du principe que les technologies numériques, robotiques et biologiques, en germe aujourd’hui, pourront bientôt être généralisées et pleinement intégrées aux modes de vie.
Dans cette optique, les nouvelles technologies pourraient maximiser et optimiser les espaces et les usages, et résoudre en temps réel les problèmes de gestion urbaine, de nourriture, d’impact environnemental, de recyclage et d’économie d’énergie. Les différents projets seront implantés dans des sites stratégiques du Grand Paris où sont en jeu des questions d’économie d’espace, de préservation des ressources, de connectivité aux réseaux.

Conférences

  • Claire Bailly – Jean Magerand : Présentation Bionumérique
  • Pr. Seugman Baek : Séoul Renaissance ; Séoul d’avenir
  • Armand Béhar : Mondes imaginaires
  • Bertrand Lemoine : Présentation du contexte Grand Paris
  • Roland Vidal : Agriculture, paysage et gouvernance alimentaire
  • Angel Talamona : Réseaux sociaux mobiles instantanés et mobilité urbaine
  • André Fleury : Projets d’agriculture
  • Claire Bailly – Jean Magerand : Enjeux contemporains
  • Pierre-Yvon Carnoy : Espaces publics et espaces numériques, Écritures et interprétations
  • Élodie Godo : Le BIM et la 3D dans une agence d’architecture
  • Eve Ross : Maquette collaborative
  • Emmanuel Natchitz : Génie urbain et NTIC
    Jeunes professionnels intervenant tout au long du workshop : Eun Sook BAE, Cédric BLEMAND, Thomas FIERS, Marie VADECARD, Thomas ZEDIN